Would I

I always said I would never.
I would never.

I would never.

I would never.
But I did.

And I will.
I only ever said the former,
Because I had the impulse
Without the circumstance
To bring it to fruition.

I had the arrogance
To wage a war in silence
With venomous opinions
And the guise of morality
Playing upon my skin.

I only ever had the strength
When temptation rest
Miles away
In the bed of a stranger:
A passerby I could
Easily pass judgment upon.

And now the realization
Of my own humanity
Calls out:

A fatal howl
Ripping through my skin,
The false morality
Plummeting to the floor,
And I am now
Myself.

Flawed and fantastically mortal

 

© Shea Depmore
Steal money.. not words.

2 thoughts on “Would I

Leave a Reply

