Denise

I spoke about you last night
In such a way
The venom peaked out
From my chapped lips
And swallowed up your name.

I spoke about you
In such a way.
I’ve never-
I could never.

It dragged it back
Towards my lungs
And your name,
It battered away at my throat
As I continued:
Sung songs
Of your offenses.

I spoke about you
In such a way.

I am sorry.

I am sorry
To tear the heavens
With my temperamental
Clamoring
As you were leaving
In such a way.

_________________________________________________________________________________

Your Son

Your silent heart
Beats up inside of him,
Thrashes and bashes about
Into the depth of him.
Now that you have left,
What is he
But a pile of your bones
Assembled in such a way
You disappear,
Exist only when called upon,
Humming evermore
In his lungs?

© Shea Depmore
Steal money.. not words.

Leave a Reply

