Post-Parting

I am without words,
Always without.

Perhaps this is why
I am drawn to
poetry.

I don’t know whom you are trying to reach
When you proclaim
I am no longer myself.
Some fantastically
Articulate girl
Graced with the maturity and supreme
Empathy
To handle and care for
All of your thoughts?

She is a fairy
Floating in and out of your
Memory,
Fooling you with the best of me,
So you only see my devilish
Self
In the present.

Leave her be
And sit a while with me:
The spent and silent girl before you.

© Shea Depmore
Steal money.. not words.

One thought on “Post-Parting

  1. Pingback: Post-Parting Part II « Jargon

Leave a Reply

